American Academy of Neurology

Ralph L. Sacco, MD, MS, FAHA, FAAN, is the chairman of neurology; Olemberg Family Chair in Neurological Disorders; Miller Professor of Neurology Public Health Sciences, Human Genetics, and Neurosurgery; executive director of the Evelyn McKnight Brain Institute; Senior Associate Dean for Clinical and Translational Science, University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine; and chief of the neurology service at Jackson Memorial Hospital. A graduate of Cornell University and a cum laude graduate of Boston University School of Medicine, he also holds a master's in epidemiology from Columbia University, School of Public Health. Sacco completed his neurology residency training and postdoctoral training in stroke and epidemiology at Columbia Presbyterian in New York. He was previously professor of neurology, chief of Stroke and Critical Care Division, and associate chairman at Columbia University before taking his current position in 2007.

Sacco is an international expert in stroke epidemiology and health disparities. He is the principal investigator of the Northern Manhattan Study, the Florida Puerto Rico Collaboration to Reduce Stroke Disparities, AHA/ASA Bugher Center of Excellence, as well as co-investigator of multiple other NIH grants. Sacco has published extensively with over 600 peer-reviewed articles (h-index 101) in the areas of stroke prevention, treatment, epidemiology, risk factors, vascular cognitive impairment, human genetics, and outcomes.

He has been the recipient of numerous awards, including the AAN Wartenberg Lecture, AHA Feinberg Award of Excellence in Clinical Stroke, the WSO Global Stroke Leadership Award, AHA Gold Heart Award, the NINDS Javits Award in neuroscience, and numerous named lectures.

Sacco is a fellow of both the Stroke and Epidemiology Councils of the American Heart Association, a Fellow of the ANA, and an elected member of the American Association of Physicians. He was the first neurologist to serve as the president of the American Heart Association from 2010 to 2011.